Skip to main content

UC San Diego Neurosciences Faculty

UC San Diego’s Department of Neurosciences is among the nation’s largest and represents a breadth of disciplines and specialties spanning neurosciences research as well as adult and child neurology. The interaction between clinicians and translational scientists assists in cross-fertilization of ideas that push the envelope of science related to patient care and that advance understanding of nervous system function in health and disease.

Faculty Directory


Name Title Division Contact
Agrawal, Kunal HS Assistant Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES kuagrawal@ucsd.edu
619-543-7760
Albright, Thomas D Adjunct Professor PSYCHOLOGY talbrigh@ucsd.edu
858-453-4100
Banks, Sarah Associate Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES sbanks@ucsd.edu;
Bevins, Elizabeth HS Assistant Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES

eareed@ucsd.edu

Blesch, Armin Professor in Residence NEUROSCIENCES ablesch@ucsd.edu
Brewer, James Brian Professor/Chair NEUROSCIENCES jbrewer@ucsd.edu
858-534-9434
Broce-Diaz, Iris  Assistant Professor In Residence NEUROSCIENCES

ibroce@ucsd.edu

Brown, Timothy Associate Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES ttbrown@ucsd.edu
858-822-1769
Bui, Jonathan D HS Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES jdbui@ucsd.edu
858-822-6700
Callaway, Edward M Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES ecallaway@ucsd.edu
Castle, Michael Assistant Professor In Residence NEUROSCIENCES

mcastle@ucsd.edu

Checkoway, Harvey Adjunct Professor FAMILY MEDICINE AND PUBLIC HEALTH hcheckoway@ucsd.edu
858-822-0159
Chen, Dillon Y. HS Assistant Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES dyc017@ucsd.edu
858-966-5819
Chen, Xu Assistant Professor NEUROSCIENCES x1chen@ucsd.edu;
858-822-1025
Chun, Jerold J.M. Adjunct Professor PHARMACOLOGY jchun@ucsd.edu
858-784-8410
Cleveland, Don W Professor CELLULAR & MOLECULAR MEDICINE dcleveland@ucsd.edu
858-534-7811
Cline, Hollis Tremaine Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES hcline@ucsd.edu
Corey-Bloom, Jody Professor Emeritus NEUROSCIENCES jcoreybloom@ucsd.edu
858-246-1288
Coughlin, David HS Assistant Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES dacoughlin@ucsd.edu
858-657-8540
Courchesne, Eric Professor NEUROSCIENCES ecourchesne@ucsd.edu
858-534-6914
Dale, Anders M Professor NEUROSCIENCES amdale@ucsd.edu
858-822-6671
Daneman, Richard Assistant Professor PHARMACOLOGY rdaneman@ucsd.edu
858-822-2376
Desplats, Paula Associate Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES pdesplats@ucsd.edu
858-822-3182
Dore, Kim  Assistant Researcher NEUROSCIENCES

kdore@ucsd.edu

Dunn-Pirio, Anastasie HS Assistant Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES adunnpirio@ucsd.edu
858-605-4447
Edland, Steven D. Adjunct Professor FAMILY MEDICINE AND PUBLIC HEALTH sedland@ucsd.edu
858-246-1250
Ellis, Ronald Joseph Professor in Residence NEUROSCIENCES roellis@ucsd.edu
619-543-5079
Ellisman, Mark H Professor NEUROSCIENCES mellisman@ucsd.edu
858-534-2251
Evans, Ronald M Adjunct Professor CELL & DEVELOPMENTAL BIOLOGY rmevans@ucsd.edu
858-453-4100
Evans, Sean J HS Clinical Professor/Assoc Dean-UME NEUROSCIENCES sevans@ucsd.edu
858-657-8540
Feldman, Howard Professor NEUROSCIENCES howardfeldman@ucsd.edu
858-246-1347
Ferrey, Dominic Alexander HS Assistant Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES dferrey@ucsd.edu
619-543-3500
Filoteo, Julian Vincent Adjunct Professor PSYCHIATRY vfiloteo@ucsd.edu
858-249-1748
Frederick, Aliya HS Assistant Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES

alfrederick@ucsd.edu

Friedman, Jennifer Rebecca HS Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES jrfriedman@ucsd.edu
858-966-5819
Gage, Fred H Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES fgage@ucsd.edu
858-453-4100
Galasko, Douglas R Professor in Residence NEUROSCIENCES dgalasko@ucsd.edu
858-246-1240
Gertsch, Jeffrey Hill HS Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES jgertsch@ucsd.edu
Gleeson, Joseph Gerard Professor NEUROSCIENCES jogleeson@ucsd.edu
858-246-0524
Gold, Jeffrey Joseph HS Associate Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES jjgold@ucsd.edu
Gonzalez Gonzalez, Cynthia HS Associate Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES cyg007@ucsd.edu
619-543-6291
Gonzalez, Hector M. Professor NEUROSCIENCES hmg002@ucsd.edu
Graves, Jennifer Associate Professor NEUROSCIENCES jgraves@ucsd.edu
858-246-2384
Grundman, Michael Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES mgrundman@ucsd.edu
Gruol, Donna Associate Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES gruol@scripps.edu
(858) 784-7060
Guido-Estrada, Natalie Mar HS Assistant Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES nguidoestrada@ucsd.edu
858-966-5819
Gundogdu, Betul M. HS Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES bgundogdu@ucsd.edu
619-543-5300
Haas, Richard Professor Emeritus NEUROSCIENCES rhaas@ucsd.edu
858-822-6700
Haddad, Gabriel G Adjunct Professor PEDIATRICS ghaddad@ucsd.edu
858-822-4740
Halgren, Eric Professor RADIOLOGY ehalgren@ucsd.edu
858-822-0762
Hannawi, Andrew HS Assistant Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES

aphannawi@ucsd.edu

Hemmen, Thomas M HS Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES themmen@ucsd.edu
619-543-7760
Hillyard, Steven A Professor Emeritus NEUROSCIENCES shillyard@ucsd.edu
858-534-2385
Hnasko, Thomas Scott Associate Professor NEUROSCIENCES thnasko@ucsd.edu
858-822-0672
Hook, Vivian Adjunct Professor SCHOOL OF PHARMACY vhook@ucsd.edu
858-822-6682
Iragui-Madoz, Vicente J Professor Emeritus NEUROSCIENCES viragui@ucsd.edu
858-657-6080
Jablecki, Charles Assistant Physician NEUROSCIENCES ckjablecki@ucsd.edu
Jin, Yishi Adjunct Professor NEUROBIOLOGY yijin@ucsd.edu
858-534-7754
Jindal, Anuja Vora HS Assistant Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES avjindal@ucsd.edu
Kansal, Leena R HS Associate Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES lkansal@ucsd.edu
858-657-6080
Karanjia, Navaz P HS Associate Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES nkaranjia@ucsd.edu
619-543-6291
Karten, Harvey J Professor Emeritus NEUROSCIENCES hjkarten@ucsd.edu
858-534-4938
Khalessi, Alexander Adjunct Professor SURGERY akhalessi@ucsd.edu
619-543-5540
Khoromi, Suzan HS Associate Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES skhoromi@ucsd.edu
Kim Mcmanus, Olivia Sungji HS Assistant Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES okimmcmanus@ucsd.edu
Kinkel, Revere Philip Professor of Clinical NEUROSCIENCES rkinkel@ucsd.edu
619-543-3500
Kleschevnikov, Alexander Assistant Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES akleschevnikov@ucsd.edu
Koffler, Yacov Assistant Professor in Residence NEUROSCIENCES ykoffler@ucsd.edu
Komiyama, Takaki Professor NEUROSCIENCES tkomiyama@ucsd.edu
858-534-4654
Koo, Edward H Professor Emeritus NEUROSCIENCES edkoo@ucsd.edu
858-822-1024
Kutas, Marta Adjunct Professor COGNITIVE SCIENCE mkutas@ucsd.edu
858-534-7450
Labuzetta, Jamie Nicole HS Assistant Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES jlabuzetta@ucsd.edu
Laverty, Chamindra HS Associate Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES ckonersman@ucsd.edu
858-642-3685
Lee, David Jin HS Assistant Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES djl036@ucsd.edu
858-657-6080
Leger, Gabriel HS Associate Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES gleger@ucsd.edu
858-246-2539
Lemke, Greg E Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES glemke@ucsd.edu
Lessig, Stephanie L HS Clinical Professor/Vice Chair NEUROSCIENCES slessig@ucsd.edu
858-249-0856
Levi, Leah Professor Emeritus OPHTHALMOLOGY llevi@ucsd.edu
Lipton, Stuart A Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES slipton@ucsd.edu
858-657-8540
Litvan, Irene Professor NEUROSCIENCES ilitvan@ucsd.edu
Longardner, Katherine HS Assistant Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES klongardner@ucsd.edu
Looger, Loren Professor NEUROSCIENCES llooger@ucsd.edu
415-845-2467
Lu, Pengzhe Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES plu@ucsd.edu
Malinow, Roberto Professor NEUROSCIENCES rmalinow@ucsd.edu
858-246-0274
Martone, Maryann E Professor Emeritus NEUROSCIENCES mmartone@ucsd.edu
McGehrin, Kevin HS Assistant Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES kmcgehrin@ucsd.edu;
Mellon, Pamela L Professor DEP. OF REPRODUCTIVE MEDICINE pmellon@ucsd.edu
858-534-1312
Meyer, Brett Cowan Professor of Clinical NEUROSCIENCES bcmeyer@ucsd.edu
619-543-6867
Meyer, Dawn Matherne HS Associate Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES dmmeyer@ucsd.edu
619-543-2871
Mobley, William Charles Professor NEUROSCIENCES wmobley@ucsd.edu
858-822-4247
Modir, Royya HS Associate Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES rmodir@ucsd.edu
858-657-7190
Mulligan, Caitlin HS Assistant Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES camulligan@ucsd.edu
858-657-8540
Nelson, James Erskin HS Assistant Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES jenelson@ucsd.edu
Nissinen, Janne Kristoffer Assistant Physician NEUROSCIENCES knissinen@ucsd.edu
Norbash, Alexander Adjunct Professor RADIOLOGY anorbash@ucsd.edu
Pa, Judy Professor NEUROSCIENCES

jpa@ucsd.edu

Pfaff, Samuel Adjunct Professor NEUROBIOLOGY sapfaff@ucsd.edu
Piccioni, David Associate Professor of Clinical NEUROSCIENCES dpiccioni@ucsd.edu
Pierce, Karen L Professor in Residence NEUROSCIENCES kpierce@ucsd.edu
858-534-6919
Ravits, John M Professor of Clinical NEUROSCIENCES jravits@ucsd.edu
858-246-1154
Reas, Emilie  Assistant Professor In Residence NEUROSCIENCES

ereas@ucsd.edu

Reynolds, John Associate Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES jhreynolds@ucsd.edu
Rho, Jong Professor NEUROSCIENCES jrho@ucsd.edu
858-822-5861
Riggins, Nina  HS Associate Clinical Professor  NEUROSCIENCES

nriggins@ucsd.edu

Rismanchi, Neggy HS Assistant Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES nrismanchi@ucsd.edu
Rissman, Robert A Associate Professor In Residence NEUROSCIENCES rrissman@ucsd.edu
858-246-0140
Rosenzweig, Ephron Assistant Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES erosenzweig@ucsd.edu
Roy, Subhojit Professor PATHOLOGY sroy@ucsd.edu
(858)534-8857
Sahagian, Michelle L HS Associate Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES msahagian@ucsd.edu
858-966-5819
Salmon, David P Professor in Residence NEUROSCIENCES dsalmon@ucsd.edu
858-246-1253
Sattar, Shifteh HS Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES ssattar@ucsd.edu
Schulte, Jessica HS Assistant Clinical Professor  NEUROSCIENCES

jdschulte@ucsd.edu

Sejnowski, Terrence J Adjunct Professor NEUROBIOLOGY tsejnowski@ucsd.edu
Shaner, Nathan Associate Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES ncshaner@ucsd.edu
858-534-8182
Sharpe, Cynthia Marion Assistant Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES csharpe@ucsd.edu
Shih, Jerry Professor of Clinical NEUROSCIENCES j8shih@ucsd.edu
858-657-6080
Shtrahman, Matthew Assistant Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES mshtrahman@ucsd.edu
Siavoshi, Sara HS Assistant Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES ssiavoshi@ucsd.edu
Silva, Gabriel A Adjunct Professor BIOENGINEERING gsilva@ucsd.edu
Sternson, Scott Professor NEUROSCIENCES ssternson@health.ucsd.edu
Stowers-Anderson, Lisa Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES lstowersanderson@ucsd.edu
Tecoma, Evelyn S. Professor Emeritus NEUROSCIENCES etecoma@ucsd.edu
858-657-6080
Thomas, Ronald G Adjunct Professor FAMILY MEDICINE AND PUBLIC HEALTH rgthomas@ucsd.edu
Townsend, Phyllis Jeanne Professor Emeritus NEUROSCIENCES jtownsend@ucsd.edu
Trauner, Doris A. Professor Emeritus NEUROSCIENCES dtrauner@ucsd.edu
858-822-6700
Tuszynski, Mark H. Professor NEUROSCIENCES mtuszynski@ucsd.edu
858-534-8857
Viirre, Erik Scott Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES eviirre@ucsd.edu
Wiegand, Sarah HS Assistant Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES

swiegand@ucsd.edu

Wright, Brenton Alan HS Assistant Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES b9wright@ucsd.edu
Wu, Chengbiao Associate Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES chw049@ucsd.edu
Zheng, Binhai Professor NEUROSCIENCES bizheng@ucsd.edu
858-534-5807
Zimbric, Michael Richard HS Associate Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES mzimbric@ucsd.edu